GOP challenges to black voters in Spartanburg County

From the October 31, 2008 Spartanburg Herald-Journal, Page A-1:  

…Spartanburg County Republican Party Chairman Rick Beltram, taking the role of a poll watcher, challenged the vote of 74-year-old Fannie Rogers because he didn’t believe her signature matched what was on her credentials. This upset the actual poll worker — the person who checks in a voter — and soon Ruby Rice, president of the Spartanburg NAACP branch, was involved.

‘I don’t have real good handwriting anyway, and this man (Beltram) said it didn’t match the writing on my card,’ Rogers said. ‘It really upset me. Ruby came over and asked him if he was harassing me. He said no. I said yes.’

The poll worker left in tears, Beltram left, saying attorneys for Republican candidates would be at the Election Office today, and Rice left to call the state Election Commission and complain.

Beltram painted himself as the victim in the situation, saying once he questioned the validity of Rogers’ signature, ‘all the black ladies ganged up on me.’

‘They targeted me. Soon as I walked in, it was clear,’ Beltram said. ‘As soon as I saw Michael Reese, I knew right away what was going on. But I didn’t talk to a voter. I talked to a poll worker, and she’s the one who wanted to bark back.’

Posted on November 2, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beltram the victim: Of course. That’s great. He harasses an elderly black woman trying to vote, even though it’s clearly not within the definition of what a poll watcher does.

    Is he wanting to get sued by the NAACP? They’d love to take him to the mat for this.

Leave a Reply

